Holidaying ducks

My new ducks have recently discovered that there is a river, Abhainn Chrois, around 200 metres from my house. They’ve been trekking down there every day for the past week or so and yesterday I decided to go down and watch them.

I could hear them from the house, so I knew exactly where they were.

Yes, I am calling them as I would call the chickens, but they usually come too when I call the hens.

There are only 7 here, the 8th is the injured one, and she is still wary of venturing far from the hen houses, where she can hide.

20130512-001854.jpg

I wasn’t on my own, Bud was down too. The ducks drive him absolutely bananas when they call out to each other. He was keen to go after them here.

20130512-001743.jpg

The river isn’t far away, you can see the top of my house here, from the bottom of the hill.

20130512-001801.jpg

I almost stood on this mink trap as well. I knew it was there but hadn’t seen it before. I don’t think a mink has been trapped there recently, although they did catch a ferret there in the past 2/3 weeks.

20130512-001807.jpg

And finally Bud had to have a wee dip, didn’t he?

20130512-001754.jpg

Leave a Reply

