An Duile

I did my rounds today and noticed one sheep acting a little funny. Usually they all come running as soon as they hear or see me. Today, most of them were at the fence before I called them, apart from one away on her own. As soon as I called, I saw her ears twitch and she came running, although a little uncertain of herself.

I lost track of her in amongst the flock, but soon spotted her, and her problem. She was blind in both eyes.

The eyes go grey and the sheep is temporarily blind. I’m not sure what it’s called in English, but we call it ‘an duile’ in Gaelic.

IMG_4649

As my pickup is off the road, I’m using my dad’s van, giving opportunities to take some selfies before I took her home 🙂

IMG_4644

Fortunately I have some opticlox in and have treated her. She’ll improve in the next few days. Hopefully the fact that I got her very early will minimise the risk to the rest of the flock.

It’s not uncommon and I had issues with it in 2012 and also 4/5 sheep last winter, including this same ewe.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

