Last fortnight of lambing

Saturday 26th April. I still have 2 sheep left to lamb. My first lamb was 32 days ago and I have been up at 5am for 29 of the last 33 days. I cannot wait for this to finish!

The last fortnight has seen mainly ups, but a few downs too.

20140426-100648 am.jpg

20140426-100701 am.jpg

I had some difficulty delivering this monster lamb and was is such a rush to run and get the pickup, that I didn’t notice one of my chickens sleeping on top of the wheel. One live lamb but one dead chicken :/

I then had to get the vet out to help deliver this lamb. 2 of us had tried to deliver it, but no joy. I expected a dead lamb, by the time the vet arrived, but he managed to get it out alive. He said another 5 mins and it would have been a goner. The main problem here was that the sheep has a very narrow pelvis and the lamb was as big as she could have managed.

20140426-100849 am.jpg

I’ll have to consider her future, but they’re outside now anyway. The lamb has interesting markings

20140426-101202 am.jpg

This sheep lambed last Thursday (17th), meaning there were 4 left to lamb. Things went very quiet after that, with only one more lamb in the following 9 days!

20140426-101543 am.jpg

I had a set of twins waiting for me at 5am today, so down to the last 2. A set of twins and a single. I cannot wait to get it all finished!

20140426-101812 am.jpg

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

