Gales

We’ve had a bit of a battering recently, even by island standards. Constant gales, almost daily, have been here for the last 10-14 days. Off the top of my head, I think we’ve had 80mph winds around 3/4 times, 90+ twice, 104mph & 116mph.

The first 100+ gale caused a bit of damage on the croft, but things have been generally ok since then. Everything that was going to blow away or break, is long gone, although I did lose one chicken on Thursday night/Friday morning, she was dead inside the hen house door when I checked them in the morning.

I also had a bit of an issue with the ducks this week. I got home on Wednesday night and was told that one of my ducks was out on the main road. This was at 10pm and the main road is about 1/4 mile from my house. Spent about 15 minutes trying to catch her, but she was soon back at home.

20131222-012747 am.jpg

Unfortunately that wasn’t the only one that was out there, but I never saw the other one until it was too late. My father spotted her in the morning, having been killed by a car 😦

I write all this on Saturday night. We’ve just had another windy day, and are
set for a big storm Monday/Tuesday. The Met Office have issued a yellow warning for both days, with reports that we could have sustained winds of 60+, with gusts of 80-90. This usually means that we will have over 100mph winds in Ness. The official Met Office station is at Stornoway Airport, but we are much more exposed and it hits us harder.

We should have a full house for Christmas anyway, with the two mainland based brothers making it home tonight, after marathon days due to ferry and plane delays.

We’ll see what the new week brings!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

