Mink Traps

I posted earlier in the week about a (probable) ferret or (unlikely) mink loose around our houses.

I got home from Glasgow this evening and was greeted by two traps; one beside the barn next door, and the other at the corner of my chicken run.

The one at the barn is hidden under blocks, near where it’s suspected that there are some rats and trail the ferret left.

20131016-181126.jpg

Mark, the Mink trapper, had his Bedlington terrier on Monday, and it followed the trail left by the ferret/mink. This went right along the fence I’ve erected for my new chicken run.

I let Bud have a sniff of it, under my own supervision, so that he wouldn’t be as curious next time.

20131016-181144.jpg

It’s not a well known fact that I was employed by SNH as a mink-trapper back in 2007. I was on a no set hours type contract and had applied for the job as I had just started out self-employed and wanted to make sure I had enough work. As it turned out, I did the training but I was busier than I expected with my self-employed stuff, so I never actually got to go out. That’s actually one of my biggest regrets in my working life.

Ever since, I have fully supported the Mink Project. The mink (and ferrets/polecats) are alien species here and have decimated ground-nesting bird populations.

The traps don’t harm the animals, they spring shut and hold them inside. When the trap is open, it is checked on a daily basis. If a mink/ferret is inside, it is dispatched with an air pistol.

20131016-181134.jpg

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

