visiting a Uist croft

I am down in Uist as part of the day-job just now, so I took the opportunity to visit my former BBC colleague, Iain Stephen Morrison, this evening. He has some pedigree Zwartbles, which are some of the cutest lambs I’ve ever seen, along with a cracking commercial flock too. Very impressed with the whole setup. You can see plenty pictures of his Zwartbles on his Uist Zwartbles Facebook page

Here is a picture I have ‘borrowed’ from his facebook page, of himself and one of last year’s Zwartble lambs.

IS

It never really hit home how different crofting is in Lewis and Harris, compared to Uist. Our two main crofts in Ness are nearly 20 acres in total, whereas I heard a 40 acre croft in Uist classed as “small” today. Eye-opening stuff, a world apart from what we do.

It gave me some food for thought, though, as to my own breeding plans. I might think outside the box this year, especially after how disastrous the last 6 months have been. Loads of ideas now, just need to think things through!

Leave a Reply

