Incubator

I’m trying something today that I’ve never tried before; incubating eggs. I’ll explain why in another post shortly but just now it’s incubation.

I bought a second hand incubator about a month ago, and now I’ve bought some eggs to hatch in it. I’ve been following @chickenstreet on twitter and his blog, picking up some tips and I got in touch with Andy 10 days ago about purchasing some eggs for hatching.

They were sent next-day delivery on Monday, but island life means it’s 4pm Wednesday before they arrive! Hopefully this won’t have any adverse effect on the eggs.

20130320-212118.jpg

I’ve set the incubator up in my spare bedroom and set it running a wee while ago. Hopefully it’ll be simple enough to use (I’ve done some reading on the subject) and I’ll have some chicks in 3 weeks.

20130320-212155.jpg

The eggs have been in transit for 2 days, so they are in the spare room, with the point down, for the next day, to allow the air sack to settle. I also checked with my neighbour, Genma, who has an incubator and has hatched chicks before. I hope I’m doing things right, but we’ll find out in the next 21 days!

20130320-212151.jpg

Leave a Reply

