Sunday Rounds

I had a busy, busy day yesterday. I’m absolutely knackered today and I’ve managed to get all my chores out of the way early on today, so I can chill for the rest of the day.

After picking up the new chickens yesterday, I drenched the lambs/hoggs as a couple of them were showing signs of Liver Fluke.

20130317-113248.jpg

After that, I moved the sheep that I took home on Friday night, to a field where they’ll be for the next week or so.

After that, I spent the afternoon power washing the pavements around my house. Not very exciting, but I suppose it was actually a good way to relax!

I went out for a while, and when I returned, one of the new pullets had gone AWOL. I spent an hour looking for her, before I got Bud in to help. He sniffed her out in 5 minutes. She was tucked in under some thorns.

Can you see her?

20130317-113407.jpg

Normally, I wouldn’t have been too concerned, but snow was forecast and the wind had really picked, so I wanted her to get back into the run & hen house I have the new ones in. This resulted in my hands being scratched a lot!

20130317-113428.jpg

Anyway, I wanted to get everything out of the way early this morning, so that I could do nothing the rest of the day. My brother Martin came in with me, so helped me feed the sheep and collect eggs.

20130317-114800.jpg

Ok, he didn’t help me too much with the sheep, but he did collect eggs!

20130317-113423.jpg

This was his smiling pose – it’s not meant to be a sneer! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. These Bluebells are just gorgeous. I’d never seen the breed before, although that wouldn’t be unusual as I live in a city. But I’m quite sure my Granny didn’t have any in Upper Shader! Wasn’t she just a clever wee thing to go looking for a cosy place to make a nead. She obviously thought thorns were better camouflage than a cosy hen-house.

Leave a Reply

