Cleaning out the hen houses

As I usually do every week/10 days, I cleaned out the hen houses. I hate doing it, the worst, smelliest job on the croft. I have 3 small hen houses for the 22 hens. 2 of them were painted in the summer but that paint obviously wasn’t up to scratch as it has all but gone within 6 months! I decided to repaint one of them, so got it into the barn today.

Innes came in to help me get it into the trailer. (Which could also do with a lick of paint!)

20121231-181547.jpg

I then got the hose out and gave it a clean.

20121231-181625.jpg

20121231-181652.jpg

20121231-181657.jpg

It’s now in the barn, drying off, and hopefully I’ll be able to give it a coat of paint tomorrow. I’ll get this one done in next couple of days and then get the other one in drying over the weekend.

I also put up a shelter in front of one of the other hen houses. I rarely lock them up for the night and the prevailing winds hit it square on.

20121231-182524.jpg

The observant amongst you will notice that the ‘after’ picture is a lot darker, as I went off to do some other work before finishing this.

20121231-182531.jpg

More of the hens went into this one tonight, as the other one is in the barn.

While we were working on all of this, I slipped on the wet ground – fortunately Innes whipped out his phone to preserve the moment!

20121231-181702.jpg

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Hen house painting « Air an Lot

Leave a Reply

