Grazing

One of the problems I’ve encountered this year is lack of grazing. I have increased the number of sheep slowly over the last couple of years, but haven’t really increased my grazing. I have enough to get by, but that’s all.

I happened to bump into a guy in the village the other day and he was more than happy for me to put sheep on a part of his croft that is never used.

Here is the croft. The field with the waymarker is one I already use and the one with the blue outline is the new one that I’m using. (Google Maps link here)

20121227-214949.jpg

The grass is very long on it, probably at least 10 years since it was grazed. It could do with cattle on it first but will have to make-do with sheep.

20121227-155650.jpg

20121227-155644.jpg

This video really shows how long/deep the grass is.

Here are the sheep on the croft. I’m not sure why, but I found it extremely peaceful to be there earlier today.

20121227-155655.jpg

That means that, as things stand today, this is the layout of the land that I use. There is land spread over 5 crofts, the 3 village parks (common grazing) and one apportionment. (Google maps)

20121227-214954.jpg

Looks like a lot, but not really!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: A few sheep odd-jobs « Air an Lot

Leave a Reply

