Feeding in the dark!

Man, it is a miserable morning out there!

Got up today around 6.45 but took me a wee while to get myself ready for going outside – psyched myself up first then put on the survival suit!

20121119-081831.jpg

It was pitch black when I went out, around 7am. My usual routine is feed the pigs first, then the hens and chicks. Bud comes with me every morning – you should see how excited the wee fellow is every time I put my wellies on!

Today, did the pigs as usual but I found it darker than normal. I usually feed them nearer 8 but since I had extra to do, they were earlier this morning. Don’t think they fancied getting out of their warm bed at that time but funny how powerful an influence food is!

Next I walked out the croft to leave Bud with my mother for the day, and I picked up some crystalix mineral licks for the sheep that we got on Friday but I forgot to put them out on Saturday!

20121119-081423.jpg

The sheep go wild for this stuff. I fought off the temptation to use my pickup to take it in to the sheep (as I was soaking and filthy) so the tractor got fired up instead

20121119-081430.jpg

As you can see, it was still pretty dark at that time.

20121119-081503.jpg

20121119-081441.jpg

A quick spin in the croft – the sheep are in the furthest sections away of the crofts, about 1/2 or 3/4 of a mile away – and I was greeted by sheep hiding behind the shelter myself and Innes put up 2 years ago. They need it on a morning like today.

As soon as they realised I had food, they came flying over. They love it! The only problem for them is they have to lick it – even though they’d love to bite off a big chunk!

20121119-081452.jpg

They’re always a bit ott with the stuff at first and it can lead to some bullying but they settle down quite quickly. I gave licks to 3 of the 4 flocks this morning. I’m leaving the blackfaces as I think they’re ok without.

Took the tractor out to my parents house after that, it’s going into the barn for the winter – and hopefully some TLC!

Walked home, fed the chicks and hens, now I have to contemplate a shower an going to work! The joys!

Why do I do all this, you may ask? Because I love it. Real sense of satisfaction – even on days like this!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Over-indulging « Air an Lot

Leave a Reply

